Although Texas is a gun-friendly state, it is still reasonably easy to find yourself facing weapons charges. Unknowingly carrying a weapon without a license or that violates texas laws can be a common mistake.
Firearms and Other Weapons
On January 1, 2016, Texas was made an open-carry state. With this in mind, you must still have a concealed handgun license in order to be allowed to open carry.
Most types of weapons can be purchased and possessed with few exceptions. Under federal law and in the Texas Penal Code, rifles with a barrel length of less than 16 inches and shotguns with a barrel length of less than 18 inches are generally prohibited. Exceptions can be made to these weapons, as well as machine guns and silencers, under the condition that the purchaser registers the weapon with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives and pays a $200 tax.
Weapons like swords, spears, daggers, sabers, bowie knives and machetes are also legal to open carry in the state of Texas. However, other items like a switchblade or brass knuckles can land you a misdemeanor.
To buy a rifle in Texas, you must be at least 18 years of age and at least 21 years of age to buy a handgun from a licensed dealer. Federal law states that it is generally illegal for someone younger than 18 to possess a handgun unless they are in a situation such as defending themselves against an intruder or for hunting.
Do You Have Weapon Charges??
If you or a loved one have been charged with weapon charges, often the next best step to take is to talk to a criminal defense lawyer. The cost of fines combined with the cost of having a conviction on your record can be detrimental.
At Smith & Vinson Law Firm, we may be able to help with your charges today. Call us today to speak to someone about setting up your defense for your case. (512) 359-3743.